Eureka! Art Pavilion

An exciting exhibition about science related arts and fundamental physics brought to you by Osmosis Projects Supported by Tower Hamlets Council and Arts Council England

21st – 31st October show opens daily 10am-5pm

21st October launch party 6pm-10pm

24th Gloop workshops 10.30am-12pm & 2pm-3.30pm

29th Arts Meets Science Talks 6pm-8pm

31st Gloop workshops 10.30am-12pm & 2pm-3.30pm

 

The Art Pavilion, Mile End Park, Clinton Rd, London E3 4QY

School guided tours including demonstrations are available by appointment

Disability access is also available

Contact Osmosis Projects Tel: 07949029569

email art@osmosismachine.co.uk

 

Eureka! is the final group exhibition of the Osmosis Machine tour which is a kinetic glooping tower installation which evolves and grows into colourful patterns and stalactite formations. The critically acclaimed art work received the visitors choice award for “The Neo Art Prize 2013” and since then “Osmosis Machine” has toured extensively from the Newcastle “Centre for Life Museum” to “The Newlyn & Exchange Gallery” Cornwall.

The show titled “Eureka! Art Pavilion”  is a coming together of many arts and science enthusiasts. All the artists’ works are inspired in some way by science and discovery and variously refer to fundamental physics, liquids, kinetic energy, sound frequencies and light waves.

The Exhibition will have a festival feel with a focus on making the arts and sciences more accessible to families and encouraging young people into science, engineering and the arts.

The work comes from diverse backgrounds and disciplines and includes award winning artists Grenville Davey winner of the 1992 Turner Prize and Virginia Verran winner of the Jerwood Drawing Prize 2010. The show also celebrates up and coming artists like Zoe Schoenherr the Leverhulme Trust Artist-in-Residence 2015 based at UCL engineering. Other cross disciplinary engineering based artists include Tom Wilkinson, Samuel Zealey and Tine Bech.

2015 also sees the UNESCO International year of Light which is a global initiative which highlights the importance of light and optical technologies in the lives and futures of developed societies. As part of this celebration Eureka! has invited David Medalla to make a  new version of his famous interactive piece entitled ‘THE COSMIC TYPEWRITER : homage to dsh’, Other light pieces are included by Dr Jasmine Pradissitto and Susie Olczak.

A launch event will contain music and projections followed by two days of workshops and a series of talks about science related arts with Prof. Arthur Miller, Emeritus Professor of History and Philosophy of Science at University College London and Dr Kostya Trachenko Queen Marys School of Physics and Astronomy.

Free Gloop Making Workshops

The workshops are free and are specifically aimed at encouraging younger audiences into physics and the arts. Workshop attendees are invited to make gloop which is a mixture of PVA and borax. When combined with water the borax reacts with the glue molecules binding the polymers together resulting in a semi-solid plastic-like material. This material then can be taken through some observational tests and applied to lessons in learning via our Gloop Olympics competition.

The workshops are run on a first come first serve basis and are designed specifically for younger audiences ages 7 upwards who must also be accompanied by an adult. Class sizes can accommodate up to 30 people and are performed twice daily on Saturdays 24th and 31st of October. The workshops are at set times only 10.30am-12pm & 2pm-3.30pm

The exhibition and workshops will be held  at “The Art Pavilion” which is a deluxe arts centre set amongst a green park close to Mile End tube station and which is owned and managed by Tower Hamlets Council.

For more information please contact Adrian Pritchard Tel 07949029569 art@osmosismachine.co.uk or go to www.osmosismachine.co.uk

Participating artists:

Adrian Pritchard                                www.adrianpritchard.com/

Dr Jasmine Pradissitto                  www.pradissitto.com/

Grenville Davey                                   www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/grenville-davey-2295

Michael Ward                                       www.michaelwardstuff.com/

Tine Bech                                                  www.tinebech.com/

David Medalla                                      en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Medalla

Robert Moore                                        www.kineticsculptures.co.uk/

Tom Wilkinson                                     www.tomwilkinson.com/

Samuel Zealey                                     www.samuelzealey.com/              

Zoe Schoenherr                                                      www.zoeschoenherr.co.uk/

Andrew Stahl                                         en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Stahl_%28artist%29

Virginia Verran                                                     www.virginiaverran.com/

Clare Chapman                                                      www.clarechapman.com/

Susie Olczak                                            www.susieolczak.co.uk/

Arts Meets Science Talks:

29th October 6pm-8pm

  1. Dr Kostya Trachenko Queen Marys School of Physics and Astronomy – Lazy Liquids ph.qmul.ac.uk/engagement/lazy-liquids
  1. Prof. Arthur Miller, Emeritus Professor of History and Philosophy of Science at University College London – Colliding Worlds: How Cutting-Edge Science is Redefining Contemporary Art www.collidingworlds.org/